kellbelle

Do I have to have a job to feel purpose?

10 posts in this topic

First time poster.

I am a recent college graduate who has been bouncing between "not real" jobs:  fitness instructor, coffee barista, veterinary assistant, teacher's aide for 3 years.  I have two degrees in Business and Wellness, but the jobs related to those areas are either

a. sitting in front of a computer for 8 hours or

b. low-paying, low-hour, highly-physical jobs.  

The coffee shop I was working at recently closed, so I've been out of work for almost 6 months now.  I still teach classes at our community gym, but the pay is horrid and the attendance isn't near what it should be.

My husband makes enough money for us to exist with my minimal income, and I am trying to bring a little being into this world because that it my number one priority currently (over job, over fitness [my passion], over travel, over possessions [house, car, etc.]).  I also know that I don't feel right paying someone else to raise what I allowed into the world, so I will be staying at home with said baby, if I ever do get pregnant.

I try enjoy every day, but there is a looming guilt when I'm out enjoying the beautiful summer mornings and my friends and family are working jobs they hate. (Side note, my husband doesn't hate his job, so he isn't holding that against me.  He actually is proud knowing that I don't have to work a shit job because he makes enough, so he's not [openly] pushing me.)

TLDR:  My question is, do I feel guilty because society expects that I work a full-time job?  Or do I feel guilty because my calling is actually finding a career?

Edited by kellbelle
Title re-wording

I don't have a job and I feel like I have a purpose. It's actually a good idea to not work so that you can focus on your child. Maybe your purpose is raising your child to be awesome.

• Upvote 2

You feel guilty because you've interiorized society's expectations.