Clearly

So what is your experiences on Astral travel ☺

14 posts in this topic

Hi, Clearly. :)

I'm just now finally getting comfortable with OBEs; I had to really practice the art of allowing and very deep restful meditation sessions to even start getting into that mode of 'travel.' I've done it successfully about 6 or 7 times. I'm a noob! I was able to do what I really wanted to - see the Earth from orbit, and actually The Pyramids, since I just wanted to see them, but mostly, I just kept getting stuck, and it freaked me out. >:( For me, I encounter full blown sleep paralysis getting out of my body sometimes (you may know already, but in sleep paralysis, you're aware, but it's like your body's made of lead, and you can't move). This should be a key transition point, but it still makes me panic. 

I thought I was really brave at one point, but astral projection is a challenge for me. It scares me to jerk back into my body, and that happens a lot from what I've experienced - especially since I live in a loud city neighborhood, and there may be disturbed rest at any given time. It's uncomfortable, like awakening quickly out of a dream, if you slam back into your body.  

My advice based on what I've experienced is to stay as calm as possible, make sure you're in a place where you feel safe (I live with a roommate who slams the front door all the time, so after getting nearly rattled to death during a session, I took a break), take your time, try to plan it so you're either just going to sleep or just waking up since that's the most natural transitional time to do it (sleep is basically an entire OBE every night), and if something scares you, or you see something you don't like, it's okay to pull back and try again later. ;) The most natural position for this is Shavasana (in yoga terms) or deep meditation pose - laying comfortably, flat on your back, with as little resistance in the body as possible.