Maddie

Viruses, a mystery to me.

6 posts in this topic

Hey everyone! I'm studying to become a biological analist and today we had a lecture about viruses, among other things. Now, viruses are not considered to be living organisms in biology

but why is it that they multiply and infect other organisms so 'actively'? So now i'm wondering, do they have indivdual consciousness or not? I thought, maybe someone would now more about this on a higher level.

Viruses hijack the replication mechanisms of living beings.  They can't replicate on their own so therefore they are not "alive".

Sorry but I don't know about their level of "consciousness".  

Physicist, Michio Kaku, proposed that "consciousness" is ability to sense your environment.  A thermostat can sense one thing about its environment (the temperature) and therefore it has a low level of consciousness.  We can sense a great number of things about our environment and therefore we have a higher level of consciousness.  

Sorry but I don't know about the consciousness of viruses.

Edited by Scot

Thanks for answering! Yes i was aware that they hijack cells in order to reproduce. But for example, when an infected bacterial cell is being shot with a laser beam, the virus inside the cell can sense that the bacterial cell

is being attacked. So it causes lysis of the cell before the beam can actually kill the bacterial cell. This is the virus' way to 'escape' the cell in order to protect its DNA. But, it still seems so weird to me dat a non living organism is able to reproduce and sense these kinds of things. When on the other hand it's just some pieces of DNA in a protein coat. But anyways, thanks for replying!

Edited by Maddie
  • Upvote 1

On 9 September 2017 at 9:30 AM, Maddie said:

Hey everyone! I'm studying to become a biological analist and today we had a lecture about viruses, among other things. Now, viruses are not considered to be living organisms in biology