mayablue

PSYCHIATRIC MEDICATION: What If There's No Choice?

37 posts in this topic

PSYCHIATRIC MEDICATION: What If There's No Choice?

I'm about to ask my doctor for the psychiatric medication I've been avoiding for six years (since the onset of my bipolar disorder), and although you can imagine it's taken a lot to get me to this point, I have the same fears that kept me off them in the first place, and a degree of shame for the harm I may be about to cause myself. 

See, on the one hand, if I continue to ignore the havoc that this condition has wreaked in my life: the pain I've caused myself and others; the instability that's caused me the embarrassment of having a promising future stalled, achieving very little, going nowhere; the very real danger that I will try to kill myself again, and succeed... I will be to blame for any and all future devastation. 

But on the other hand, if I do go on meds, and I end up silencing, isolating from, or harming some vital part of myself; a piece or the entirety of my soul... then, I will be to blame for what could amount to months, years, or a lifetime of spiritual self-abuse.

I'm in last hope territory, and I don't know whether to go through with it. If you have the knowledge and experience to offer advice, or any anecdotal evidence to share, you could help tip my scales. 

Thank you, and all my squishiest love and most structurally-sound support to every one of you <3 <3 <3

DISCLAIMER: I trust everyone to be intelligent enough to understand that a person in a situation like mine has tried all manner of alternative healing modalities, self-help techniques, and life-style adjustments. Please do not waste our time by asking if I have tried __insert unhelpful suggestion here__. Not only will it be unhelpful, but it will make me feel frustrated and misunderstood. You will be ignored.

Edited by mayablue
  • Upvote 2