LuxDie

Quitting my job

5 posts in this topic

Quitting my job

Hi friends. I'll try to be succinct with a big issue I have.

I am a web developer. I started working at this because I liked programming and it was a good source of income. After the first year doing it, I got bored with it, but kept doing it since I didn't know (or had interest in finding out) what else to do. Then a few years later, when the mounting anguish became unbearable, I finally quit. But I didn't look for something else to do. I just wasted away, playing video games and eating until my money ran out. Then I had to get another job, and since I was still at the same emotional point as the time I quit, I got a very similar job. Then I quit again. And did this a few more times, until today. I am STILL working as a web developer and now I'm at the point where since I'm not starving anymore, I'm conscious enough of my dread of doing my job. So I know the next step is to quit. But I don't want to keep repeating the same pattern. So I'm not really sure if I should quit or not.

I know I have a problem with commitment too, and I feel like I'm violating my commitment towards my current client if I quit.

Intuitively I feel that I should quit, then trust my inner self to guide me towards my next way of sustenance. But I'm scared of collapsing again, or not listening clearly enough, or being defeated by my fears. Should I quit?

Edited by LuxDie

Try to find out what you would rather be doing for a living. Finish the projects that you have started and quit when you have decided your next step. 

Do you want to study something else? Would you like to be your own boss and start some typeof a business? What do you enjoy doing? Once you have an idea of what you'd rather be doing you can set up a goal to do that thing.  You might need to save some money if you plan on starting your own thing or going back to school. 

I think quiting without a plan,will only get you the same pattern. 

Good luck