together as one

Feeling Unheard

6 posts in this topic

Feeling Unheard

I feel anger when someone (mainly my husband) doesn't listen to me.  I feel so unheard and that triggers the hell out of me.  I really become heated, too, when I have to repeat myself to someone over and over.  And yes, I attract these types of people that have cotton swabs permanently lodged in their ears.  

I am a teacher by trade, and I know that being in an authoritative role is my dharma, and I know that in order to master this dharma, I have to resolve this issue and become a better communicator.  I am wondering if anyone else can relate, and I am open to hearing shared stories and insights.. but please please please no advice-giving.  

Lastly, I am really hyper-aware that this is about me, not them... and that I may be either expecting people to not hear me, or I may be communicating my messages in a way that does not get absorbed by the other person.  I don't want to have to slow down my speech and dumb down my vocabulary in order to be heard... But I do want my voice to be received.  

Thank you for listening and hearing me :)  

Hi "together as one",

I thought of a story that could provide some insight, and hopefully not be perceived as advice, though I do wonder why you don't want advice.