Sign in to follow this  
Kaleigh

Public Speaking & Putting Yourself Out There

4 posts in this topic

Public Speaking & Putting Yourself Out There

Have any of you had an immense fear of public speaking & or putting yourself out there (as in sharing your thoughts, feelings, ideas, creations. etc.) and did it anyway? And did it anyway as in moved into a profession / space where you do it very often? I have recently graduated a yoga teacher training and want to teach so badly but am terrified to get up there in front of people - even though I've done it before many times. I also want to share my writings but am terrified of criticism and judgement (which is inevitable). How do you work with your own physiological reactions (fear, panic, freezing, choking)? What perspective do you take? And any other insights that you are called to share, please! - Thank you 

• Upvote 2

I have been preaching and teaching for 15+ years and I still have a physical reaction, especially when i expect my audience to have a negative reaction to my message or presentation. First I have to acknowledge my feelings. Having someone to encourage and support me always helps. I once stood up in front of the Bishop, his cabinet and representatives both lay and clergy of 800 churches to advocate for expanding and connecting prison ministries throughout our state. I knew many if not most of the folks listening were more politically conservative than I. I stepped up to the microphone, opened my mouth and nothing came out! I had to step back, silently ask for help and step back up to say, "Sorry Bishop I guess I'm a little nervous." People laughed, we moved on to discuss my proposal and to my surprise it passed.