Casey

Skin Issues

7 posts in this topic

Skin Issues

I have had acne since the third grade, like the really bad kind; and keratosis pilaris (KP) since first grade, which covers my entire legs, arms and toes.

I have been working on these spiritually for four years now. My skin is a lot better just from years of diet changes, skin care and age. But I still have some pimples and blackheads with the occasional flare up. My KP has been on me always with no relief or let up.

Tonight I was working on addressing my shame which I think is obviously very deep seated in me. Other times I've done this and gotten to the belief 'I have to be pretty in order to be loved and accepted". But, tonight I was brought to something that I hadn't been before- being ashamed of being born with jaundice, being ashamed of being born with something 'wrong with me'.

I guess im trying to see if anyone has dealt with this before or has tips for me. I worked on changing my belief, I visited baby casey, but I still feel that there is more and I felt lead to bring it to the community.

What do you all think??

• Upvote 1

I have always had really awful skin  problems and for me it seems very connected to shame and self-worth,  but also to my perfectionistic tendencies and being really hard on myself, sometimes also anxiety. I like to journey inside myself and ask my skin what it's trying to tell me that it needs. You should check out Teal's self awareness video, that helped me a lot. Also just knowing that you are perfectly lovable and acceptable no matter what your skin looks like.

Best of Luck to you,

Rosie

• Upvote 3

I can relate, I have had skin problems for 20 years. Not the same as you, but I have spent pleeeeenty of time researching and trying to figure things out.