Sign in to follow this  
authorofdarkness

POSITIVE election things...

4 posts in this topic

POSITIVE election things...

I've grown very tired of negative election posts, so here's a nice one :)

I work in the mental health field and this year my 25 year old client who has Schizophrenia and OCD voted for the first time. He had never voted before due to his anxiety and other mental struggles. But he expressed that he wanted to vote to me and was excited but very nervous to do it. But I encouraged him to do it and with some planning he was able to. I met with him today and he expressed with great delight that he had voted, and he told me how he voted. Even though he voted opposite of me in some ways I was still very happy for him, my first words to him were "That's awesome! I'm so proud of you for voting!" And it made me happy that even though our system is imperfect, people with mental challenges can vote, their voice can be heard and that makes me proud to be an American...

Any other happy things pertaining to the election?

Edited by authorofdarkness
  • Upvote 3

This was my first time voting too! It was an empowering experience to go up and do it the for the first time. But other than that, the one thing that keeps popping up in my head for other happy things that happened pertaining to the election would be Teal Tribe. I know a lot of negative election posts are on here, but in my eyes, I see it as a positive learning experience. Just reading what everyone has to say about it and their own opinions really expanded my perspective about the whole thing. I get excited when I see new posts because everyone has something to say about it based on their own experiences. The people on here have really opened up my eyes more and I really appreciate that :)

• Upvote 2