Old Soul777

2 kinds of spiritual practice

4 posts in this topic

I recently saw Teal's video on coping mechanisms. She made an excellent point in the video. Point was, that your spiritual practice could have been triggered  as a coping mechanism. In my case this is true, I've been doing my "spiritual" practice for almost 2 years. When Teal pointed out about that spiritual practice could just very well be a coping mechanism I was applauding her for such an excellent observation. However, I looked within myself and I saw that my whole "spiritual" practice was a lie... That whole time I thought that I was searching for enlightenment, but in reality it was nothing but a coping mechanism. I feel like my practice was a terrible waste of time and now have feeling of abandoning this spiritual quest. 

My question for you guys is, how and why do you do practice spirituality? Is it because you are looking for enlightenment? Maybe you feel you SHOULD be doing it and not because you want to. Or maybe you do it for fun.

Also I want to know what you gained out of your spiritual practice. 

Finally as a last note, if your motivation is find enlightenment what does that really mean? I feel like enlightenment is intangible to really achieve. What are your thoughts?

• Upvote 2

I practice it because it gives me peace of mind. I decided a while back to only do the spiritual things that bring me joy. For example, if I don't really feel like meditating I don't. I don't force myself to do it because it would be counter productive at that point in time. When I feel like meditating I do..

That is my practice

• Upvote 3